Best chocolates and vegan recipes

0

What is vegan chocolate?

Although store-bought chocolate products contain powdered milk, chocolate is actually a raw, natural vegan product.

Chocolate is made from cocoa beans that have been hand-extracted from the insides of cocoa pods (which have been hand-cut from their trees).

These beans are then fermented, dried, roasted, shelled, chopped and pressed.

The shell of the cocoa bean is removed to produce cocoa nibs. Then the seeds are then crushed to produce a cocoa mass.

When placed under extremely high pressure, the cocoa mass separates into cocoa powder (gives chocolate flavor and color) and cocoa butter (the melting property of chocolate).

Pure chocolate is then created by combining cocoa solids and cocoa butter through processes called conching, tempering and finally molding.

Additionally, the rise of veganism has increased demand for a greater choice of plant-based chocolate products.

Is dark chocolate vegan?

Dark chocolate is vegan! Dark chocolate contains 50-90% cocoa solids, with only cocoa butter and sugar.

Plus, dark chocolate is a rich source of antioxidants and minerals. Some studies suggest that dark chocolate may reduce the risk of heart disease and improve brain function.

Most dark chocolate bars in the supermarket are suitable for vegans, but be sure to check the ingredients.

Dairy-free milk chocolate is created from a lower level of cocoa solids, cocoa butter, sugar, and plant-based milk.

Is white chocolate vegan?

Although white chocolate has a different production method from dark chocolate, it can be made vegan.

Instead of using cocoa solids, dairy-free white chocolate is made from cocoa butter, sugar, and a plant-based dairy product.

Vegan white chocolate is readily available in most supermarkets, as well as a range of independent chocolatiers.

Do you like these articles? Read this next:


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.